What’s the Punishment for DUI in Florida?
Driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol (DUI) is a serious offense in the state of Florida. Indeed, a person who receives a DUI conviction may face serious punishments.
If you are facing DUI charges, one of the first--and one of the most important--things that you should do is to call an experienced DUI defense lawyer who can help you to understand your options and rights.
Here’s an overview of DUI punishments - Florida DUI defense attorneys at the office of Skubiak & Rivas, P.A. are available to talk today.
What Constitutes Driving Under the Influence?
A person commits a DUI offense in Florida if that person is operating a motor vehicle with the “impairment of normal faculties” due to alcohol or drug consumption, or with a blood or breath alcohol concentration (BAC) level of .08 percent or above.
DUI Punishment: Florida Laws
In Florida, a DUI conviction can result in both administrative and criminal penalties. As explained by the department of Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FHSMV), a first conviction for a DUI can result in a fine of not less than $500 and not more than $1,000; a second conviction a fine of not less than $1,000 and not more than $2,000; and a third conviction a fine of not less than $2,000 and not more than $5,000.
In addition to a large fine, other consequences include:
- First conviction: up to six months in jail; up to one-year license suspension
- Second conviction: up to nine months in jail; up to one-year license suspension
- Third conviction: up to 12 months in jail; up to one-year license suspension
The consequences for subsequent offenses are more serious.
In addition to the above, points will be assessed against a person’s driver’s license, which can have an effect on car insurance rates, and could accumulate to the point where a license revocation period is extended. Being convicted of a DUI can also prevent a person from securing certain employment or other opportunity types.
Keep in mind that the state of Florida maintains an implied consent law, which holds that a person who is requested to submit to blood or breath alcohol testing must do so. If you refuse to give your consent to blood/breath alcohol testing, you will be subject to a penalty of a one-year license revocation, even if you are not convicted of the DUI.
Our Florida DUI Lawyers Can Help
Being charged with a DUI can be an unnerving experience that raises questions about your future. If you are facing DUI punishment, Florida criminal defense lawyers at the office of Skubiak & Rivas, P.A. can help. We believe in providing you with high-quality legal representation and advocating for your rights.
We will provide you with aggressive defense services and be by your side throughout the entire process. Please call our law firm today at 407-598-8415 or contact us online to learn more about how we can assist you.