What’s the Penalty for Driving with a Revoked License in Florida?
What happens when a person commits a crime or is guilty of a certain number of traffic offenses/accumulates too many points on their record? Their driver’s license may be revoked or suspended.
When a license is revoked, the person cannot drive until the license is reinstated.
If a person does drive in Florida with a revoked license and is caught doing so, they may face numerous consequences. The details of the penalties for driving with this in Florida are below:
Reasons for a License Suspension
There are many reasons why a driver’s license may have a suspension in our state. These include:
- Accumulating too many points on your driving record,
- Failing to pay child support,
- Receiving a conviction of a DUI,
- Refusing to submit to blood or breath alcohol testing,
- Conviction of certain crimes, and more.
Driving with a Revoked License: Penalties and Consequences
In Chapter 322.34 of Florida Motor Vehicle Code, a person who drives a vehicle while their driver’s license is revoked or suspended is guilty of a moving violation. If the person drives their vehicle knowing of the cancellation or suspension or revocation is guilty of a misdemeanor of the second degree. If the violation is a subsequent one, the crime is classified as a first-degree misdemeanor.
Receiving a Third Conviction
A person who receives a third conviction will serve a mandatory 10-day period in jail. Also, listed below is what will be classified as a third-degree felony:
- A third-degree conviction or a conviction of driving with a suspended license resulting from a violation of driving under the influence,
- Refusing to submit to a blood or breath alcohol test,
- Fleeing or eluding a police officer, or a traffic accident that causes serious bodily injury or death
A first-offense conviction for knowingly driving with a suspended license is punishable by a fine of up to $500 and up to 60 days in jail.
What Are the Defenses to Driving With a Revoked License in Florida?
The best defense to driving with a revoked license in Florida is that of claiming of not knowing of the revocation - when a person drives without knowing of the suspension, they are guilty of a moving violation; when they commit the crime knowingly, the penalties are much more severe.
There are other defenses that may be viable in your case, too. For example, you may be able to argue that the initial traffic stop was not legal. You can also argue that you weren’t the one driving the vehicle, even if the vehicle is yours. Additionally, you may be able to argue that your license got approval for reinstatement. Or you can offer proof to show that you were not driving on a public road.
Our Traffic Lawyers Can Help
Are you are wondering about driving with a revoked license penalty in Florida? If you need legal counsel, our team at the office of Skubiak & Rivas, P.A. is here to help. To learn more about our legal services and how we can assist you, please call our law firm directly at 407-598-8415. You can also send us a message online requesting more information.