Overview of Florida Speeding Laws
Speeding is among the most common types of traffic violations. The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FHSMV) reports that Orange County issued nearly 46,000 speeding tickets in 2018 alone.
To protect their safety and their license, every driver in Florida should have an in-depth understanding of the state’s speeding laws. Here, our Orlando speeding ticket lawyers provide an overview of the most important things that you need to know about speeding in Florida.
What You Need to Know About Florida Speeding Laws
What is Speeding in Florida?
Under Florida law, drivers have a legal duty to operate their vehicles at a safe speed. Always comply with the posted speed limit. If the maximum speed is 50 miles per hour (MPH), you must obey that limit. If you exceed, you will be subject to a fine.
Beyond the posted speed limit, Florida also has a more general law that requires drivers to go no faster “than is reasonable and prudent,” given the conditions of the roads. In hazardous conditions, you may need to go slower than the posted speed limit.
Florida Speeding Fines
In Florida, the penalties for speeding will depend, in large part, on how fast you were going above the speed limit. As a general baseline, drivers in Florida will be subject to the following penalties for speeding:
● Less than 5 MPH over the speed limit: Usually given a warning, unless in a school zone or construction zone. If cited in a school zone, a driver going less than 5 MPH over the speed limit may face a fine of between $50 and $143 along with three points on their license.
● 6 MPH to 9 MPH over the speed limit: Sometimes let off with a warning. A driver could face a fine of $118 to $151 and three points on their license.
● 10 MPH to 14 MPH over the speed limit: Usually ticketed for speeding. A driver could face a fine of $193 to $226 and three points on their license.
● 15 MPH or more over the speed limit: Almost always ticketed for speeding. A driver could face a fine of $243 to $376 and four points on their license.
Of course, the fines for a speeding ticket may only be part of the total costs. In many cases, auto insurance rates will go up once you pay that ticket. Further, if you already have points on your license, paying a ticket could result in a suspension of your driving privileges.
Before you pay a speeding ticket, call an experienced attorney to set up a free review of your case.
Contact Our Orlando, FL Speeding Ticket Lawyers Today
At Skubiak & Rivas, P.A., our Florida traffic ticket defense attorneys have extensive experience handling all types of speeding tickets. If you or your loved one was cited for speeding, we are here to help.
To arrange a free, no strings attached, initial consultation, please contact our law firm right away. With an office in Orlando, our speeding ticket lawyers defend drivers in Orange County and throughout Central Florida.