Leaving the Scene of an Accident with Property Damage Lawyer
Leaving the scene of an accident resulting in property damage can result in serious consequences in your record and your license’s license. Florida law is very clear that those involved in a car accident should remain at the scene of the accident.
Florida Statutes 316.062 still requires that you immediately stop your vehicle involved in a crash and notify the owner of your name, address, and registration number. You should also provide information to a police officer who investigates the scene of the crash and makes the incident report.
If the owner of the car or the property owners are not present, you should immediately report the accident to law enforcement. If you fail to perform these duties, you can be charged with a leaving the scene charge.
There are two possible charges: Leaving the Scene with Property Damages or Leaving the Scene with Bodily Injury. Regardless of your specific charge, you need a property damage car accident lawyer at Rivas & Associates, P.A. on your side.
Leaving the Scene of an Accident Involving Property Damage Charges
Leaving the scene with property damage is a second degree misdemeanor which carries a maximum jail sentence of 60 days, up to 60 days probation, and up to a $500 fine. There is a mandatory addition of 6 points to your license.
Contacting Rivas & Associates, P.A. should be your next step in protecting your rights. Our team knows Florida traffic laws inside and out. Our commitment, dedication, and knowledge will help us fight your case in court.
Possible Defenses for leaving the scene of an accident on private property
Every case depends on the facts, which you can tell us about during a consultation. Some of the more common defenses to this charge have included:
- Not knowing that an accident occurred
- Not knowing that there was property damage
- Not driving the vehicle
- Fear of another individual, who might have become aggressive or belligerent