How Much is a Speeding Ticket in Florida?
Speeding tickets can be expensive. Certainly, no one is expecting to pay several hundred dollars simply because they got caught going a few miles over the speed limit.
If you’ve received a speeding ticket in Florida, you might have many questions. Here we will answer the most common that we receive.
How Much is a Florida Speeding Ticket Fine?
Speeding tickets are handled at the county level, so the cost of the ticket could differ from county to county. There is no one fine that applies across the state.
Helpfully, the ticket itself should include the amount of the fine. Find your ticket and read it to find out how much you’ll pay.
Generally speaking, the cost will depend on how much over the speed limit you were. For example, in Duval County, being 6-9 MPH over the speed limit can cost you $129.00.
But if you were 10-14 MPH over the speed limit, then you would end up paying $204.00. Other counties, like Miami-Dade, charge much more.
However, the true cost of speeding tickets in Florida goes beyond the fine. Instead, you will also be responsible for a surcharge that is tacked onto traffic tickets.
It should not be more than a few dollars, but it is certainly annoying.
If you have questions about the costs of a ticket, contact the clerk of court for the county where you were pulled over.
What are Other Expenses Related to Speeding Tickets?
Pleading guilty to a speeding ticket can cost you dearly. For example, the added points could increase the cost of your insurance. Some people see increases of up to 25% of their monthly premiums.
Of course, you can avoid receiving points by taking a 4-hour Basic Driver Improvement course, many of which are offered online. This is a good option because Florida law will not let an insurer crank up your premiums if you successfully complete this course.
Instead of paying the fine, you pay an election fee for choosing this option.
Of course, you’ll also need to pay for the Basic Driver Improvement course, which could run around $40.
This is a better bargain than paying more for car insurance, though, so consider this option carefully.
If you fight your ticket and lose, you’ll be responsible for your fine, court costs, and any traffic school course the judge orders you to take.
These expenses can add up quickly, making fighting a ticket a risky proposition.
Is it Cheaper to Get a Lawyer and Fight the Ticket?
It depends. You really need to take a thorough look at what will happen if you are convicted of speeding. Helpfully, the state gives you 30 days to decide what you want to do. In that time, consider the options.
For example, Florida will suspend your license for 30 days if you accumulate too many points in a 12-month period. Without a license, you might end up losing your job and thousands of dollars in income. You really need to consider that cost as well.
If this is a possibility, then fighting a traffic ticket could make the most sense. Talk to an attorney about how much he charges to represent you for a speeding charge. You might be surprised at how affordable it is to have your day in court.
Of course, for other people, hiring a lawyer might not be the most cost-effective option. For example, this might be your very first speeding ticket in Florida.
You can swallow your pride, sign up for a 4-hour driver improvement course, and keep the points off your record.
You’ll have to pay the election fee for choosing this option and the driver improvement course, but these might be preferable to fighting the ticket.
Choosing the Best Approach
You have 30 days from the date of receiving your speeding ticket to decide whether to fight it. If you want, you can meet with a Central Florida traffic attorney to discuss your case. At Skubiak & Rivas, we have spent 25 years representing people just like you.
We handle speeding tickets along with other traffic violations, such as toll violations, improper lane changes, failing to yield, and running a stop sign. We also have experience with DUI cases.
For more information about our services, please contact us right away. We offer a free case review to anyone who requests it. Please call 407-894-4449 or send us an message. Avoid delay. The more time we have to review your case, the more options you should have as a defendant.