What are the Fines for Speeding in a School Zone in Florida?
Florida law permits enforcement of a 15-20 mph speed limit in a school zone. This speed limit is enforceable for 30 minutes before, during, and after students arrive and leave school.
Florida law sets the amount of your fine for speeding based on how many miles per hour over the speed limit you were caught traveling.
Fines are enhanced if you are caught speeding in a school zone. Usually, a fine for speeding in a school zone is double the amount for ordinary speeding.
Fines for Speeding in a School Zone
What are the fines for speeding in a school zone? Your fine for speeding in a school zone depends on how fast you were driving:
- 1-9 mph over the speed limit: $50 fine
- 10-14 mph over the speed limit: $200 fine
- 15-19 mph over the speed limit: $300 fine
- 20-29 mph over the speed limit: $350 fine
- 30-49 mph over the speed limit: $500 fine*
- 50 mph or more over the speed limit: $2,000 fine**
* This fine is for a first offense only. A second offense will result in a $1,000 fine, and a court appearance is mandatory.
** The fine for exceeding the speed limit by more than 50 MPH outside of a school zone is $1,000 for the first offense and $2,500 for the second. In a school zone, these fines could double for a total of $2,000 for a first offense and $5,000 for a second offense. A court appearance is usually mandatory.
Other Penalties for Speeding in a School Zone
In addition to a fine for speeding in a school zone, you may be subject to additional penalties, including:
Mandatory court appearance. A citation for speeding 30 mph over the speed limit and above will likely require a mandatory court appearance.
Points against your license. Speeding in a school zone will result in points on your license. The number of points depends on how fast you were traveling:
- 1-15 mph over the speed limit: 3 points
- 16 mph over the speed limit and above 4 points
- If the speeding resulted in an accident: 6 points
- If you were texting while driving in a school zone: 2 points (in addition to the above)
Suspension of your license. If you receive too many points on your license, it could be suspended for thirty days, three months, or even one year.
Mandatory driving course. You could be required to complete a driving safety course.
See the Official Florida Drivers Handbook for more information on Florida driving regulations.
Contact a Florida Speeding Ticket Lawyer
Were you cited for speeding in a school zone? Contact Skubiak & Rivas, the Ticket Law Firm today. Our traffic lawyers based in Orlando are happy to discuss your options and how we can help you fight a traffic citation.
Schedule a free consultation online or call us at 407-904-7943.