Category: DUI/DWI

Is a DUI a Felony or Misdemeanor in Florida

In Florida, a DUI conviction can have serious consequences. But the severity of those consequences depends on the specific facts of each case. A DUI in Florida can be either a felony or a misdemeanor, and each charge has important differences and different punishments. If you are charged with DUI, you should speak with an…

Driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol (DUI) is a serious offense in the state of Florida. Indeed, a person who receives a DUI conviction may face serious punishments. If you are facing DUI charges, one of the first–and one of the most important–things that you should do is to call an experienced…

Getting stopped for drunk driving and charged with driving under the influence (DUI) in Florida can be an anxiety-inducing experience. It is extremely important for anyone who is facing DUI charges in Florida—whether as a first-time offender or as someone with previous DUI charges—to understand how DUI charges work, and what the repercussions can be….

Penalty for a First DUI Conviction in Florida

Consuming alcohol or taking drugs before getting behind the wheel of a car is never a good idea – not only is driving while intoxicated or impaired extremely unsafe, but also illegal, too. If you have been arrested and charged with a DUI in Florida, it’s important that you understand the penalties for a first-time…

Florida DUI Laws

According to information published by the Florida Department of Law Enforcement, 32,684 people were arrested for DUIs in the state in 2017, including 1,899 in Orange County alone. Florida has strict drunk driving laws. If you are arrested and charged with intoxicated driving, you will be facing the automatic suspension of your license and you…

For drivers who are convicted of their first DUI in Orange County, Florida, there are several penalties, including the following: A fine of $250 to $500; License revocation of at least 180 days; A 12-hour course in DUI school; 50 hours of community service; Up to 1 year of probation; Up to 6 months imprisonment…

Florida DUI Attorneys will defend your right to drive again in Florida. Skubiak & Rivas, P.A. has been practicing Florida traffic law since 1993. Contact us today to find out how our Florida DUI attorneys can help with your Florida DUI charges. Remember what’s at stake if you plead guilty to your Florida DUI charge,…