The Complete Guide To Resolving Florida Speeding Tickets
Many Florida drivers who receive speeding tickets opt to immediately pay them, if only to get on with their lives. This response often stems from a lack of understanding about how such tickets impact them, particularly over the long run.
This quick-start guide will provide everything you need to know about Florida speeding tickets, including the most effective way to resolve them.
Should I Consult An Attorney About My Speeding Ticket?
If there’s one truism about handling a speeding ticket, it’s this: you should never pay it without first talking to an experienced traffic ticket attorney. An attorney may find errors on it that result in getting it dismissed. In the event the police officer made zero mistakes, an attorney may still be able to negotiate lesser penalties on your behalf.
The consultation is usually free. Importantly, an experienced attorney will be able to quickly identify your chances for a dismissal or plea bargain.
How Many Points Does A Speeding Ticket Add To My License?
The answer depends on the circumstances.
In Florida, if you’re cited driving 15 MPH or less over the posted speed limit, you’ll receive three points on your driving record. If you’re cited driving 16 MPH or more over the posted limited, you’ll receive four points. But if you cause an accident while speeding, you’ll receive six points regardless of how many MPH you were driving above the posted limit.
4 Things You Should Know About Florida Speeding Tickets
A lot of people are surprised to learn how speeding tickets in Florida can impact them long-term. Following are four things you may not know about being convicted for speeding.
#1 – You Have Three Options
First, you can simply pay the ticket. (Again, don’t do this until you’ve spoken to a Florida traffic ticket attorney.) Second, you can opt for traffic school. Third, you can request a court appearance.
#2 – You Can’t Remove Points
Once you receive points on your driving record, you can’t do anything to remove them. They’ll eventually fall off on their own. But expect points to remain on your record for three years.
#3 – Speeding Outside Florida Still Results In Points
Many Florida residents mistakenly believe that speeding tickets received outside the state do not impact their driving record. The reality is, such tickets have the same impact as they would if received within the state.
#4 – Accumulated Points Can Have A Huge Impact
A first-time speeding conviction seldom imposes big consequences. Aside from paying the associated fine, possibly attending traffic school, and paying higher insurance premiums, there isn’t much of an immediate impact. (This assumes you don’t cause property damage or injury to others in the process of speeding.)
However, recall that points stay on your record for three years. If you are convicted of additional traffic violations, and thus additional points are added to your record, your driver’s license can be suspended. Accumulate 12 points within 12 months, and your license can be suspended for 30 days. Accumulate 18 points within 18 months, and you may receive a 3-month license suspension. If you accumulate 24 points in 36 months, your license can be suspended for an entire year.
Typical Fines For A Speeding Ticket In Florida
Fines are levied based largely on how egregious the speeding. For example, driving 6 MPH over the posted limit will result in lower fines than driving 30 MPH over the posted limit.
Moreover, the state of Florida allows each county to assess the fines associated with speeding tickets. While these fines are similar from county to county, there are notable exceptions.
For example, if you’re caught speeding 10 MPH above the posted limit in Orange County or Duval County, you can expect to pay $204. However, the same offense will cost you $226 in Miami-Dade County. Most counties in Florida will levy fines that conform to the following:
6 to 9 MPH over the limit: $129
10 to 14 MPH over the limit: $204
15 to 19 MPH over the limit: $254
20 to 29 MPH over the limit: $279
30 or more MPH over the limit: court appearance is mandatory
What To Do If You Get A Speeding Ticket
The first thing you should do is contact an experienced Florida speeding ticket attorney. He or she will examine the details surrounding your case and advise you regarding your best course of action.
The worst thing you can do is to simply pay the ticket without considering your options. Consult a traffic ticket attorney, who may be able to get the ticket dismissed or negotiate lower fines and other reduced penalties.
The Florida speeding ticket attorneys at Skubiak & Rivas have successfully defended thousands of clients since 1993. We’re ready to aggressively defend your rights, along with your driving privileges. Call 407-894-4449 today or fill out the form on this page for a free consultation, and find out why Florida residents rely on Skubiak & Rivas for all traffic-related cases.