Traffic Ticket Points In Florida – If You Have Too Many Points You May Lose Your Florida Drivers License
Having a Florida Drivers License is a privilege, not a right. This means that it can be removed from you at any point in time. There are several reasons the State of Florida may invalidate your drivers license.
You may lose your license for the following reasons.
- Excessive Points on Your Florida Drivers License
- DUI Arrest
- Non Valid Insurance
- Behind On Child Support Payments
- Habitual Traffic Offender
Each moving violation in the State of Florida is assigned a point value. Exceeding a certain level of points a period of time may result in the suspension of your drivers license.
Below are Florida Traffic Violations with assigned point values.
|Leaving the scene of an accident resulting in property damage of more than $50||6 Points|
|Unlawful speed resulting in an accident||6 Points|
|Reckless driving||4 Points|
|Any moving violation resulting in an accident||4 Points|
|Passing a stopped school bus||4 Points|
|Driving During Restricted Hours||3 Points|
|Unlawful speed – 16 MPH or more over lawful or posted speed||4 Points|
|Unlawful speed – 15 MPH or less over lawful or posted speed||3 Points|
|All other moving violations (including parking on a highway outside the limits of municipalities)||3 Points|
|Violation of curfew||3 Points|
|Open container as an operator||3 Points|
|Child restraint violation||3 Points|
Do you know how many points you have on your Florida Drivers License. Have you sought a FREE consultation from a traffic attorney? If not, you maybe setting yourself up for higher insurance rates and a higher risk for more penalties. Below are the maximum point values that will result in a suspension of your Florida Drivers License.
- 12 points within a 12-month period results in a 30-day drivers license suspension
- 18 points within a 18-month period results in a 3-month drivers license suspension
- 24 points within a 36-month period results in a 1-year drivers license suspension
If you pulled over and are ticketed with points, you have options. We have 30 years of combined experience and have seen thousands of traffic related cases. Contact us for a consultation at 407-894-4449.
IF YOU DO NOT WIN – YOU DO NOT PAY*
*Only applies to Orange County, FL.