Florida Commercial Drivers License Attorneys – Avoiding Points
Commercial Drivers Licenses (CDL) are held to a higher standard than regular drivers license holders. Traffic violations and citations are subject to stricter penalties are much harsher for a driver that carries a CDL.
In the state of Florida, a commercial drivers license is required for someone operating a tractor/trailer or vehicle over 26,001 LBS or more.
There are 3 classes of Commercial Driver Licenses in Florida.
CLASS A CDL: Any Tractor/Trailer combination that has an actual weight, declared weight or GVWR of 26,001 LBS. or more, provided towed vehicle is more than 10,000 LBS.
CLASS B CDL: Any single motor vehicle that has an actual weight, declared weight or GVWR of 26,001 LBS. or more, or any such vehicle towing a vehicle of 10,000 LBS. or less.
CLASS C CDL: Any motor vehicle that has an actual weight, declared weight or GVWR of less than 26,001 LBS. when endorsements “H” or “P” would be required on the driver license OR any combination of motor vehicles where the towing vehicle is less than 26,001 LBS. GVWR and the towed vehicle has a GVWR of 10,000 LBS. or less, but together they weigh 26,001 LBS. or more.
If you are charged with a violation, you may be subject to points on your CDL and in many cases, the only way to avoid points on your license is to fight the charge with a qualified Florida traffic lawyer.
In Florida, if you are stopped driving any type of vehicle, hold a CDL, and if you are under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance, or are in procession of a controlled substance, you could lose your Florida Drivers License for up to 1 year. If you are charged for a second offense, you could lose your license permanently.
With more than 30 years of combined experience, we are Central Florida’s traffic defense lawyers.
Contact us for a free CDL initial consultation at 407-894-4449